• Umbrella Online is a closed and invite-only community forum for discussion of the Resident Evil series, and other survival horror games, movies, and tv shows.
    Being a member is a great way to network, meet like-minded people … plus it removes this notice.

If you are interested in joining and participating please Contact us for an invitation code, or proceed to Register if you already have one!
    We do this to protect our community.

What's your occupation?

Alexander.

Reaction score
Are you working and if this applies, which industry do you work in? Is this a long-term or short-term decision? Perhaps you are studying? If so, what subject and what is the plan afterward?

Where do you see yourself 5 years from today?

I work in retail, always have.

I got made redundant twice in 12 months a couple of years ago — due to businesses going into administration and liquidation. It was hard to handle, but I pushed through and managed to find a new job in retail literally the day after I gave my keys back.

I originally worked for Maplin Electronics, ending as an Assisant Manager - they went under.

Then I took a job with Office Outlet (what became of Staples Retail in the UK), in a Supervisor-type role. Then I ended up doing shop merchandising for them around the country - which was fun. Ironically a lot of the time I was converting empty Maplin stores into Office Outlet stores.

Now I work for Halfords. Who are doing really well in this climate... Which is giving me confidence. Im employed as Bicycle staff... I mainly build and do small repairs on cycles at the moment, but I do other things as needed.

In 5 years - I don't have a clue. Hopefully I'll still be working for Halfords but in management as that's where my expertise is. But that just depends how consumers treat the business.

By day I'm an IT Technician at a secondary school (academy), by night I'm Batman I stack shelves for Tesco..